Peace of Mind

2011

Someday I’ll receive a peace of mind

Convincing you more than me it’ll be just fine

I just got to sleep & ease my mind. 

Release the stress I see that’s mine

It’ll be just fine I just need some time

Need to feel depressed

Truth be told it might be when I feel the best

Just the normal feeling in my flesh 

Self-loathing on my chest 

A scar unbecoming 

But I’ll tell you one thing 

I do feel at peace when the pain is numbing. 

Can’t feel reality or escape to fantasy 

Stare up at the ceiling fighting back tears of the tragedy. 

Survivor’s strategy. 

I’d rather be 

feeling nothing then to continue to flip out 

and live in such self-doubt. 

Either way I’ll never see around 

leaving the house

so why take the pain of feeling hopeless 

when I can numb my mind from the focus 

and pray to God nobody happens to notice it’s more than mopin’ 

An emotional masochist if such a person exist. 

Maybe I hang on too much to this 

but I’m terrified of what I’ll forget. 

I feel like this sorrow is something I can’t easily quit. 

Still I wonder if I’ll ever find that peace of mind 

instead of handing over a piece of mine

I just need something to ease my mind. 

Maybe then I’ll be just fine. 

Leave a Reply

