Lava

Written age 17 towards my teacher. 

You make assumptions

based on past eruptions

after I promised I was done with lava’s consumption. 

But it seems more is getting bumped in

Struggling and stuck with 

the fire that continues to rise

even though the lava’s fallen to its demise. 

I understand it came as a surprise

but when you look in my eyes

Why can’t you see I tried 

to keep my promises tied. 

The explosion came from emotions

pulled within the ocean

and I’m sorry I lost my focus. 

I know I’m not hopeless. 

Through the negative I can make a positive. 

Go and make a continent

where people can upon it live. 

Leave a Reply

