Your Face

We visit in my dreams
but when I see your face in this world
I remember nothing is as it seems
and my emotions whirl
My emotions stir up all over the place
ropes tug at my heart
I can’t handle seeing your face
it makes me feel like we’re apart
But I only forgave him, Gabe,
because if I didn’t then I believed we did separate but that’s not the case.
You’re here everyday sometimes getting in my damn way
of making bad decisions
Deep down I know I’m lucky we still have this bond
because most of the time people figure it’s gone
Some days I just pray to God that this pain moves on
because I can’t handle seeing your face left here
not when you’re supposed to be in a better place
another world – away from here.

Leave a Reply

