Fry Bread in Love

For Murphy “Joe” Parkhurst

Fry Bread full of love and quality 
Roll in the hands of loving honesty. 
Call it peace, love, and serenity
Every week
“How you doing young lady? Wednesday come to the drum.”
All is a matter of destiny
because in my darkest hours
you handed me flour
and with empowered
the rest of me. 
I watched you shower
the community with meals
Fry Bread only the touch of your zeal
Week after week we’re refilled
with such love and commitment 
and the only thing I’d do different
is let you know
how much I admire and love you Joe
From my heart and soul
and wherever fate goes
in every morsel of food
I know your love flows
with great nourishment 
Creator, how I thank you for this true friend. 
Leave a Reply

