Last Notes

I can write with my right
for insight
but try as I might
I can’t make things right.

I corner the corners of my mind
but I end up tortured day and night
it’s supposed to pass over in time
but try as I might things will never feel right

I’m full of self-hate
looking for my past to be erased
but try as I might
I can’t escape
I stay up late and pace
all over the place.

Against my own will
I look in the mirror and feel
so much anger for a stranger I could kill
and try as I fight
he’s made my life unreal

I confine my soul
every door closed
it has no place to go
and try as I might
I’ll never let it grow
So I spit out its last notes.

 

Leave a Reply

