But my niece loves me

Dedicated to Alexis Ann

But my niece loves me
(Wrote age 17)

When all I see is this world getting ugly
I look in her starry eyes
and remember with great pride
because my niece loves me.

 

I’m not an expert at playing with baby dolls
so when she hands me hers
it’s more than I deserve
and I’ll play with them all
because my niece loves me.

 

When she cries
tears come to my own eyes
when her dimples beam from her face
I feel like I’m in the perfect place
because my niece loves me

 

When she’s all grown up
I’ll love her still
reminiscing on a little girl who will
still love me
because my niece loves me

Leave a Reply

