The Edge

This must be from 2009 or 2008… 

 

Why is it every time I start to walk away from the edge

I go running back over it ready to step off

all of these games have gotten to my head

I get swept up in the chaos

Stay strong,

hang on,

remain calm

but every time I start to

I run back ready to step off the edge

 

 

It’s like drugs

I give it back but get it back

Then drink away the pain

It’s a never ending trap

And there’s never a moment to relax

Sitting on the ledge sipping ‘Nac

Until this life is going to collapse

And I stand up ready to step off the edge

 

They can talk me off the ledge

Only to chase me back over the cliff

One step, one step, and it’s off the edge

I can’t take it anymore,

I can’t take it anymore

There’s people standing at the bottom

And I’m going to jump down face first on them

Only to spread the tragedy and problems

One last crack of the bottle

And I dart for the edge

Jumping off

Because I can no longer take the manipulation in my head

2 thoughts on “The Edge

Leave a Reply

