Being Multiracial (I’m one of you)

My peoples were victimized

From the forms of genocide

To the thoughts that lived on in my mind

These heritages I bare on my spine

Assimilated in time

(Another form of genocide)

Others try to tell me how to identify

But it’s not up to anyone to decide.

How I feel inside

Doesn’t have to reflect my exterior.

I never said I was superior

But I refuse to be treated like I’m inferior.

Break me down in fractions?

But I utilize my actions

Sometimes even more than those who happen

To be supposedly “more pure.”

But how can that be

When my family too endured

The struggle to be free.

So how you see me

Is only a greater conquer

To the powers that have been our monsters

You call me an imposter

But do you know what all I do?

I’ve been called Injun and gook

I’ve stood up against what others said was the truth

I come from many different backgrounds,

I’m no worse or no better

I’m always around to endeavor

The struggle with my sistren and brethren.

Leave a Reply

